Lessons, Lessons, Lessons

Upon the resumption of the final school term I was asked by our Principal to read a very concerning email that had been sent into our school via our website. This was a notification to the school about some undesirable behaviour by students of our school on a page naming our school, on Facebook. The author of the letter also expressed her concern about this online behaviour as the company she works  for actively seeks information online about prospective employees and the behaviour of these students will reduce their chances of being employed by some companies.

Through further investigation we found that there were quite a few schools (approximately 30) across the state who had  similar pages. The major concern for us as educators is that of the future of our students. We recognize this digital association will remain attached to their names indefinitely.

The analogy was recently made that the decisions and posts we make online should have more consideration that the decisions of a tattoo. A tattoo will go to the grave with the individual but the posts online will remain in cyber-space forever.

The following is an Info-graphic about employers screening employee candidates, from How Recruiters Use Social Networks to Screen Candidates [INFOGRAPHIC], By 

How-Recruiters-Screen-Candiates-Using-Social-Media infograph

I would like to know how you teach socially appropriate behaviour for students’ future?  And what action your school takes with socially unacceptable behaviour online when it is posted out side of school hours?

2 thoughts on “Lessons, Lessons, Lessons

  1. Hello would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re using? I’ve loaded
    your blog in 3 different internet browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most.
    Can you suggest a good hosting provider at a fair price?
    Thank you, I appreciate it!

    Like

    Reply
    • Hi, I am not sure if I can really be helpful as I have had an expert in this stuff play with it for me. What I do know is that I have had my domain name for a number of years and some hosting through “Cheep Domains”. This blog is hosted by WordPress but a “domain making” has been put on from my friend to enable either URL to be used to get here. http://www.rachaelbath.com.au. or http://www.rachaelbath.WordPress.com

      I still edit everything through the WordPress dashboard.

      Thanks for the feedback, I hope my info was helpful and you continue to enjoy my blog.

      Kind regards Rachael

      Like

      Reply

I would love to hear your thoughts, they are valuable to me and other readers...

